17th May 2013 – The day everything changed…

photo (5)

So this is the first time I’ve ever done something like this…blogging I mean….I’ve never felt like I’ve had anything that important or interesting to say – until now!!

So lets rewind a little bit…

My husband and I only got married a few weeks ago, and although we were trying for the baby from the night of our wedding, I don’t think either of us thought it would happen so soon…

The stats:
Date of last period: 13 April
Period of “trying”: 26 April to 1 May
Date of positive test: 17 May

Holy. Shit. That was quick,

So just before my period was due, I start getting the usual pre-period symptoms – tender breasts, tummy cramps, headaches – and I can’t help but feel a little disappointed. Sooo then my period due date comes…and goes…did I mention I am usually regular as clockwork??!! So the next day ‘Im thinking “maybe, just maybe, there’s a chance that I *may* be pregnant” – I mean I’m 2 days late by this point right??

I make the hubby drive me to the supermarket and we both wait anxiously whilst I pee on the stick….Result – not pregnant!! What the eff? Ok…more disappointment…but I figure I’m just late, just having a weird month.

By Friday I am now 6 days late and think something may be up, so decide to take another test, first thing in the morning….Result? Positive!!!!!!!!!! Relief, excitement, disbelief, happiness – so many emotions (not to mention hubby’s initial disdain at being woken up at 6am on his day off…although he soon came round)

By the end of the day I’ve done two more tests and we’ve both told a load of people we weren’t going to tell until after the approved 12 week mark – how the hell are you supposed to keep something this great a secret?! So, I download all the apps and work out I’m about 5 weeks pregnant. Only 35 to go. And I can’t stop thinking about it. All day, every second. How the hell am I supposed to get back to doing normal things like work when this most amazing thing is happening?

We both sit there thinking….what next? Well, the truth is, nothing. Its a waiting game now…..whilst at the same time your body starts going into overdrive to make room for the little guy. WHY DID NO ONE TELL ME ABOUT THE CRAMPS!! Seriously this is something I’ve never heard any pregnant women mention?! And I have 8 nieces & nephews so I’ve been around pregnant women before. I blame my sisters for not warning me about this. When I mention this to them now the response is “you think that’s bad, wait until you’re in labour”. Awesome. thanks for that.

I have to admit I didn’t anticipate feeling this whole body change quite so much. I really thought I’d still be me, still feel like me, but with a bump out front. Now pregnant me is laughing at naive pre-pregnant me.

And there’s the tender breasts….which are so sore I cant lie on my stomach, and which also seem to have swollen to twice their size (much to the happiness of my other half). Lastly there’s the other personalities that seem to have taken over my body – weeping Willow, bitchy Betty, solemn Susan, happy Harriet. you get the picture. Another word for it is crazy. Cos that’s how you feel jumping from one mood to the next with each changing wind direction…I do feel for the hubby in this respect – its gonna be a long 9 months. But then I remember I get the cramps, and the pain, and the food/ drink restrictions annnnnnnd the weight gain. And then suddenly I don’t feel too bad for him.

Leave a comment